Star Trek fun

ComBadges

As I mentioned last night, I finally feel excited about celebrating the 50th anniversary of Star Trek at conventions this year. I have conceptualized an outfit that will show my love of the franchise, not just one series. What got me out of my funk was the thought of my Doctor Who Fangirl: the way the outfit incorporates each regeneration and celebrates the entire series.

1819Thus I have conceptualized what I am calling, for lack of a better term, my Star Trek Fangirl outfit. Maybe I should call it my Steampunk Star Trek outfit, seeing as how the pattern is quite steampunk. Either way, I am looking forward to seeing this outfit come together.

After finally deciding on this pattern, this look, I looked at it to figure out what piece would represent what era. I feel confident that each era will come across.

The Original Series is going to be represented in the skirt from B. You can see that it has a little contrast on the sides and in back. I’m going to be much more subtle than they show. I ordered some Shantung Sateen from Fabric.com. It has a smooth sides and a shantung side (the picture on the site does better than I could do to describe it). The shantung side will provide the contrast. This way it’ll be more texture than color.

The movies’ uniform (aka the Monster Maroons) is going to be the shrug/bolero from A. That is going to be made from linen, again ordered from Fabric.com. I’m not going to line it, since that kind of defeats the purpose of making it from linen. This is going to be worn at DragonCon, anything I can do to keep cool is what I will do! To further the movie uniform look, I’ve ordered the officer’s badge to wear on the front. It’s accurate for the uniform, as well as looking like an amazing accessory.

I’m going to use my black underbust corset instead of making anything. I have ordered a sleeveless mock turtleneck in teal from Amazon. That combination is going to represent The Next Generation and Deep Space Nine. It’s kind of a combination of the two looks, while also being similar to the look from the TNG movies that was also on later DS9. I am going to try to figure out how to make some “rank pips” to attach to my collar. I considered ordering some actual rank pips, but decided to keep it more jewelry-like instead of uniform.

To finish everything off, I’ll be wearing some black leggings with my black boots. That is one thing that has been consistent since the series began. Yes, the women wore black nylons, not solid leggings. But I’ll be much more comfortable in the leggings and it’s going to look great!

My goal is to have this done for DragonCon, but I’m going to try to get it done in time for Marcon. It looks like I’ll have something to do over spring break, after I’ve reclaimed my room and gotten some work done for school.

Oh, the life of a cosplayer in graduate school!

One thought on “Star Trek fun

  1. Pingback: Gene Roddenberry | Earthpages.ca

Leave a Reply

