Halloween Week

This was an interesting week and I learned a lot. Those who knew who I was enjoyed the costumes. But that was only a few people. Otherwise it was kind of draining.

I am an introvert. I am also shy. These are not mutually exclusive traits. My husband is an outgoing introvert. Being an introvert or an extrovert refers to how you recharge and get your energy daily. Extroverts get energy by being around others. Introverts get energy by being by themselves. This is a really simple explanation, but it gets the point across. quietrev.com explains things in much better detail.

The fact that I am an introvert probably explains why I take the approach I do to costuming. And why I feel so contradictory about it. I want to know that I did a good job with the costume, but I don’t want too much attention drawn to me. I’m not going to be the person simply standing around waiting for people to come take my picture. I tried that back at my first DragonCon, it doesn’t work for me.

This week I discovered something. I had always assumed that I felt drained at the end of the day at a convention because I was surrounded by people I didn’t know. Which is partially true. I have a blast at Marcon because I’ve got a lot of friends around. But this week I had friends and I was still feeling ready to get that costume off of me when I got home. That’s when I realized that being in costume is draining for an introvert like me. It’s requiring me to become someone else to some degree.

That’s why after a week of this:

With Death-as-Didi in between GIR and Connor MacManus, too (I just didn’t feel like doing another selfie), I changed out of Jane and into this:

I felt so much better! And I decided not to do Columbia.

I am so not doing that again next year!

Leave a Reply

