Marcon 50: The Costumes

Marcon 50 was amazing. And some of the best moments of the weekend were due to my costume choices.

On Friday I was Dr. Abbey. I had a Literary Costuming panel followed by the Alternative Zombies panel. Dr. Abbey was the obvious choice. When I walked in to the room before the Literary Costuming panel, the previous panel’s panelists were chatting with attendees and one of my fellow panelists was already there.

When I walked up to the table, I noticed something. She was wearing a lab coat over an orange t-shirt with “Do not taunt the octopus” on it. When she looked up, we were both stunned for a minute and then started laughing. We were both dressed as Dr. Abbey! I said I was glad I went with my CEPHALOPODS UNION #462 shirt. At least people weren’t seeing double.

Double Dr. Abbeys

Don’t we look good?

Saturday wasn’t quite as successful. With prompting, one person did recognize me as Tim. I think I’m going to keep Tim set aside unless I know that he will be recognized. Part of wearing costumes, for me, is that recognition factor because I know I’ve found another fan. Tim just doesn’t have an easily recognizable look. But it was fun being him again.

Sunday wasn’t very long, but it was fun. I was Harry because I was on the Harry Dresden panel. I made two of my fellow panelists smile broadly when I handed them my business card. One of them wants to do a Butters costume for next year, including the Polka Suit if possible. Even if he doesn’t get the suit done, it’d be awesome to have a Butters to go with my Harry!

I also learned a lot about fabrics and got some great ideas for costumes, but that’s another post. For now, I’m going to keep looking forward and get the DragonCon costumes ready to go!

Leave a Reply

