“King”ly inspiration

While I was watching the season finale of King of the Nerds, I saw Lily wearing a Kaylee jumpsuit. It got me thinking about my own plans to eventually have a jumpsuit (or four) back in my wardrobe.

This is one of those costumes that I have time to work on. I figure if I’m going to take my time to do it, I might as well do it right. I’m thinking of sticking with the iconic green jumpsuit for my first go. Since I’m planning to do it right, I started looking into the teddy bear patch.

After looking at a lot of older posts, I finally just decided to check eBay. eBay has given me hope that this won’t be an impossible task. There are quite a few people who have sets of the three patches up for a reasonable price.

I figure I’m just going to buy some fabric and dye it before turning it into the jumpsuit. I’ve already got a parasol thanks to my hubby. But if I decided to use the parasol, I really should have the jacket too. That is going to be tricky. Just finding something the right shade of blue, let alone taking any similarity to the pattern into consideration, is going to be interesting.

Either way, it will be nice to have a Kaylee that I’m really proud of to wear around conventions. Especially now that the costume’s popularity has decreased a bit.

Leave a Reply

