Costuming Yarns

Thank goodness I’m a hooker who also uses needles.

I’ve been wanting to use that joke somewhere for a while now. My mom taught me how to crochet way back when I was in the third grade. More recently I taught myself how to knit. This past month I have been putting both sets of skills to work!

First I found a cute fingerless gloves pattern that I used for two sets. One is the Fourth Doctor gloves for my Fangirl. I really want to have that outfit done and ready to go for DragonCon. I don’t know if it’s going to happen, but it’s a good goal to have. I’ve got most of the supplies to finish things up, so it’s possible. I just have to have time and a little more money. Then, I liked the pattern so much, I decided to make another pair in a golden yellow that will be used in a Steampunk outfit I’m planning.

I’ve also made a lot of progress on The Dude’s Grid sweater. After much trial and error and scrutinizing screencaps, I finally got things figured out. I’ve got the back and the right front done. I’m working on the left front. After that I’ll start on the hardest part, the sleeves. I’m really worried because I’ve been modifying the pattern as I’m going. I think I’ll be able to make things work right. After that it’s adding a little to the front and the collar, sew in the zipper, and it’ll be done!

I am so glad that the sweater is going so well, finally. It’s inspired me to really get things figured out for the rest of the costume so I can get going once the sweater is done. I’ve figured out how I’m going to do the pants, which was bugging me for a while. Everything else is straightforward, except for the beverage. I’m still trying to figure out how to make it look like I’m carrying a drink around with me without it being a drink. I’m tempted to just leave that part for the stage and go with everything else out on in the halls. Thankfully I have time to figure it out.

Leave a Reply

