October Updates

Christmas Invasion Doctor
I am still knitting away. The extra yarn arrived for the scarf and I switched back to that. I just switched over to my fourth skein overall, the second skein of red. It means I’m halfway done! But I’m starting to wonder if I’m going with the right pattern. I watched the part where he’s wearing the scarf again, and I’m starting to wonder if it’s one chunk of each color one skein long repeated. You know: purple, red, orange, purple, red, orange.
Strike that. I just watched it again with better lighting and I was right the first time. Each color has a long chunk before moving on to the next. I feel much better about that now.

The Dude on the Grid
I got pretty far into the Dude’s sweater before the yarn arrived, which is why I felt fine setting it aside. It knits up fairly quickly, so I’m not worried about how long it’s going to take. I just need to get the rest of the yarn I need to get it done.
And the more I think about that costume, the more I seriously consider entering it into the costuming contest. I am knitting up the sweater from a pattern that I’m slightly modifying. I’m going to be making the pants myself. I’m going to be modifying the disc and adding the “beverage” to the glass. I’m probably going to be coming up with how to attach the disc to the sweater myself. I’ll be modifying the wig and beard myself. The only things that are not getting modified at all are the shirt, socks, and jelly sandals. I’ll be doing the majority of the work and incorporating a lot of different techniques. I think I’ve got a chance at doing well. And if I don’t, then I’ll just have fun!

Leave a Reply

