Revamping the fangirl…again

While I do have a Tumblr devoted to this costume, I feel this is worthy of being posted here. I have come up with a whole new approach to this costume.

Simplicity 1819

I had the idea of using a layered skirt instead of patchwork, when that pattern popped into my head. It works really well for the outfit. I quickly grabbed the pattern so I could have it in front of me and then wrote down all thirteen regenerations. It will be mostly A with B’s bolero. Slowly I went through and figured out how each would be represented. Some, like One and Eight, were easier to figure out than others, like Eleven and War. But I got it figured out and here’s the breakdown:

One: Monocle. It just screams to be used here.
Two: Hat band. I think the hounds-tooth will pop really well here.
Three: Hat. The hat is not part of the pattern, but it works so well I’m going to take the hat I bought for Didi and cover it in red velvet.
Four: Fingerless gloves. I just love the idea of incorporating the scarf without using a scarf.
Five: Shirt. It’s already v-neck, so I’m going to paint on the lines around the neck on ivory fabric.
Six: Umbrella. That isn’t changing. Well, it’s going to be a new umbrella, but with the same configuration.
Seven: Umbrella handle. It’s fun and cool and will make the umbrella so much easier to carry around.
Eight: Fob watch. The 50th Anniversary fob watch just screams to be used. Just like the monocle. I’m getting it in stereo.
War: Skirt (main part). With that much area being covered, it needed a simple fabric. His pants are perfect.
Nine: Black leather corset. Why change what works. Also it’s one less thing that I’ll have to make.
Ten: Skirt (bottom), Converse, brainy specs. I figure that bottom ruffle is perfect for the blue pinstripe. And seeing as he’s my favorite, he needs more representation.
Eleven: Bustle. The brown tweed will work well here between the black of the corset and the brown of the skirt.
Twelve: Bolero. This is the perfect place for him. Navy brown bolero with a nice, bright red lining.

I’ve already got a little over half of it done. Soon it’ll simply be down to the hat and outfit. That’s where the fun will begin.

Leave a Reply

