Let the Taunting begin!

Dr. Shannon Abbey is a character in Mira Grant’s Newsflesh series. More specifically she is in Deadline and Blackout. Her first appearance has vividly remained in my mind:

She was wearing an electric orange T-shirt that read DO NOT TAUNT THE OCTOPUS, jeans, and a lab coat, and was pointing a hunting rifle at the middle of my chest.

Her description in Blackout was the final nail in the coffin:

Her lab coat was open, exposing a bright orange CEPHALOPODS UNION #462 T-shirt.

I had to put together a costume for this woman!

Thankfully it’s not a hard costume to put together. I picked up a couple of bright orange t-shirts from Michael’s. Which is a good thing because I think I’m going to have to do them again. Anyway…I bought some Jacquard paint and acetate sheets from Blick Art & Craft to make the stencils from. I ordered a lab coat from Amazon and that was it. I’ve got jeans and boots and a short brown wig.

Stenciling the t-shirts was an interesting exercise. I worked on the stencils over the course of 4.5 hours. Then, when I finally got them on the shirts, it didn’t work as well as I was hoping. It took many passes to get a solid coat on the shirts. They’re bleeding at the edges.

It’s not as crisp and clean as I was wanting. It’ll be fine for now, but I think I’m going to try using freezer paper to make the stencils next time. That way I can iron it on to the shirt which will reduce bleeding.

Leave a Reply

