Heroes

Tonight I’m actually watching Heroes of Cosplay when it’s on and I’m finding myself feeling ambivalent. It’s a little discouraging listening to Riki and Katie talk about needing the “wow factor” so they can win the prize and totally stun the judges. It makes me not want to compete because I don’t have the money, time, or space to develop the skills to create that level of costume.

But then I just listen to Chloe talk about how it’s just fun to be in a group and be with friends and make these fun costumes. It reminds me of why I do this hobby. It’s not to win awards, even though that would be nice. It’s to go to a convention or event and show off my love of a character or series.

I think I’ve said all of that before, but it’s still important to say. Also, it helps me to keep my costumes at the front of my mind. Which reminds me, I need to make some time to work on getting One ready for D*C. This is my first time doing something with a group, and I’ve received some great feedback on my ideas. I want it to look as awesome in real life as it is in my head. All the props are ready to go. I just need to get the outfit done!

Why am I so good at procrastinating?!

Leave a Reply

