Marcon 2014

That was a wonderful convention. I’ve already gushed about it over on Polymind, but I wanted to talk costumes a bit more.

Arthur was the most recognized costume of the weekend. Come to think about it, I may make Arthur a staple of Marcon. I had my picture taken three times, which was great. I got an “I love you!” after pointing out that I not only had a towel but a Guide with me. I also decided to genderbend it a bit, but I’m not sure how many people realized it since the pjs are so big. I thought the ponytail would lean more female, but I guess not.

The Doctor was well received at the Doctor Who panel on Saturday morning, which is exactly what I was hoping for. But after that I’m not sure how many people realized who I was. SG-13 went over well, and was comfy, which is why I brought it.

I think Becks was not really recognizable. I’m thinking of putting a little more into arming her, which might help. I’m also trying to figure out how to streak a wig. That might help too.

But the biggest thing I came away with, costume-wise, was the realization that I need to stick completely to sci-fi for any costumes. Also that costumes are not as a big deal as they are at other cons. It’s not that they’re not appreciated, but it’s a much more relaxed con overall, so those of us in costume simply roam around like everyone else. It’s kinda nice.

That being said, I’ve already got plans for next year. I can’t wait!

Leave a Reply

