Kyo Sohma

Kyo Sohma is one of the main characters in the manga and anime Fruits Basket. He is one of the members of the Sohma family who bears the curse. But he is unique, he is the cat. According to legend, the cat was not included because the rat tricked him into missing the feast. So Kyo has many issues tied to the fact that he is the cat. But despite that, I really like Kyo. Especially in the manga.

Kyo Sohma

I had an idea of how to make some ears and a tail for when he’s really pissed or acting very cat-like. The rest just fell into place. I have a black, v-neck t-shirt and khaki pants. I bought some white tabi socks from Sock Dreams and some flip-flops from Wal-Mart.

The wig and the bracelet were tripping me up. Then I had an idea: genderbend. Once I put that spin on Kyo, I knew exactly which wig to buy. I got the Jareth in Sherbert Orange from Arda Wigs. And it looks amazing!

I almost settled and bought the bracelet off of Amazon because I couldn’t find black and white glass beads that were smooth and the right size. Then I finally thought to check eBay. 14mm black and white beads end up with the right amount of beads on the bracelet. I know it’s a detail no one is going to really notice, but I know it’s right and it makes me feel better.

Leave a Reply

