The Doctor is coming!

I have finally made progress on my Ten blue suit! A lot has happened since I last posted. I’ll try to stay in chronological order.

Soon after the last post I started thinking more and more about just going for the Baron suit made from Magnoli fabric. I found out that Baron gives a fabric discount so the whole thing, aside from shipping, doesn’t cost much more than simply buying their suit. Yay! I can afford that. So now to go buy the fabric from Magnoli.

As my budget got to the point where I could afford to buy the fabric I went to the website and got quite a shock. The cost of the fabric had doubled. Evidently he had problems with customs and something happened to the latest shipment. It was frustrating, but I was still cool with just buying the suit as is from Baron.

I posted this price information over on Doctor Who Cosplay and Costuming on LiveJournal along with a couple of questions. All my questions got ignored because everyone was amazed at the price hike. Then a miracle happened. One of my fellow members posted that he has 5 yds of the fabric from Magnoli that he no longer needs and would be willing to sell it to me for the price he paid, the old price. Plus shipping of course.

Payment went through today and I will hopefully be receiving the fabric in the mail soon. Then it gets shipped off to Baron to have my wonderful suit made! I can’t believe that I’m going to have what might be the best blue suit out there for sale. I didn’t think I’d be able to afford it for years. It’s given me a new perspective on what I can get done next year for Dragon*Con! I know, it’s only March and I still have two other costumes to finish, but it doesn’t hurt to think about next year. 😉

Leave a Reply

