TRON: Legacy ideas

Last month when I went with my hubby to see TRON: Legacy, I was in awe the entire movie. But I was also trying to pay attention to the details of a certain costume.

Kevin Flynn from TRON: Legacy

From the instant I saw Flynn on the screen I loved his outfit. But then he changed into the black. I was instantly hooked. It looks like a simple enough costume to make. Aside from getting the light inside the edges. I figured I have enough costumes already, but I’d be willing to make it for my hubby if he wanted.

Then today I was reading the TRON: Legacy thread over at Cosplay.com and noticed something. A complete lack of people talking about making a Flynn costume. Sam, Quorra, Zeus, even a Clu! But no Kevin Flynn. So I think I’m going to add it to the list of costumes “I’d like to eventually do”. It just looks like such a kick-ass costume. And it would be great to wear during Dragon*Con After Dark. The light would be much more visible then. 🙂

4 thoughts on “TRON: Legacy ideas

  1. Hey i just red your blog about the kevin flynn costume and i totally love the idea. I’m searching the internet for several month but you are the first i found who have the idea.
    I found already some sites who offer el-tape which would give the black mantle the total stunning super-awesome look.
    I’m for myself total inexperienced in cosplay but i like to work on this costume for myself.
    So therefore i wanted to encourage you to work on this outfit too! Maybe we can exchange experiences and ideas.

    It would be gerat to get an answer from you!
    Greetings from Germany and sorry for my english

    • Guten morgen from the US!

      Sounds like you are off to a great start! Unfortunately I doubt I’m going to be able to work on this costume anytime soon. But, I have found two awesome threads over on The RPF that have given me much hope and help in figuring it out. One is all people like us, people working on Kevin Flynn’s robes. The other is by someone who has created kits to change out the lighting on the Identity Discs to make them screen accurate. I suggest joining the site, it’s free and a wonderful resource for anyone wanting to make accurate costumes and/or props.

      I wish you much luck in working on your costume. The only advice I can give is this: be patient and be willing to ask questions. I have messed up costumes by letting my procrastination and my anxiousness to get it done get the better of me.

  2. Just found your site and I’ve been searching for *anybody* that has done Kevin Flynn’s black costume. I love the idea. I’m also encouraging you to work on it because I have no idea how to start, lol. 🙂 Best of luck to both of you!

    • Thank you! Trust me I want to start working on it. But there’s this stuff called money and I don’t have enough of it. Hopefully I’ll be able to slowly start gathering materials or asking for help through presents. 🙂

Leave a Reply

