Cosplay Term: Crossplay

After reading a couple of very informative threads on Cosplay.com, I think I’ve got a good idea of how to approach my crossplays. Especially the upcoming ones of the Doctor and Harry Dresden.

First off, many of you may not know what crossplaying is. It’s just like what it sounds: cosplaying as the opposite sex. Being the perfectionist that I am when it comes to cosplaying, I end up crossplaying sometimes.

Crossplaying can be a lot of work. Luckily for me, both Harry and the Doctor have coats and clothes that aren’t tight fitting that will hide any curves I can’t smooth out. I’m planning to get a compression shirt soon that will really help in my shopping. The compression shirt will flatten out the boobs (hopefully) and help a bit with the stomach.

That is the one thing that I figure is necessary to have before going out to find shirts and pants for these costumes. Since I’m trying to pass as a guy, I need to buy guy’s clothes and not be accounting for the boobs. That is a must for when I order my blue suit. I need to be able to give them an accurate chest measurement.

Now I need to look into how to use make up properly to give myself a more male appearance. What can I say? I like to get my cosplays looking as accurate as possible!

Leave a Reply

